HEY BABY, THEY’RE PLAYING OUR SONG

Last year on the SERENDIPITY website, I recalled some of my favorite songs. In case you missed it, here they are again. What are yours?

Which Ones Hold Your Memories? by Rich Paschall

A lot of people have a song or two that are special. It might be their prom song. It could be the theme song from another high school or college dance. It might be the first dance from their wedding. It just might be the song that was playing when they met, or when they first realized they were in love.

That special song could be remembered from a rock concert or play. It may be the one that was on the radio when you were off on a road trip. You know the one! Everyone sang along at the top of their lungs. When you meet now and hear that song, everyone sings it again, just like 20, 30, or even 40 years ago.

Here is my top ten list. They all hold special memories, but if I was to write this tomorrow, the order might change completely. Except number one would stay the same. That’s for sure. First I have some honorable mentions from recent years.

David Archuleta, Postcards in the Sky tour

I have seen Maroon 5 in concert several times, and I really like Sunday Morning for the memory it evokes. I also love David Archuleta’s Touch My Hand for the thoughts it gives of being on stage but singing to just one person. Hunter Hayes touches a chord with “Invisible.” I will add One Republic’s Apologize, as in “it’s too late to apologize.” Nanon Korapt asked “Just Friend?” in the Bad Buddy series.

Hunter Hayes, Live at Sears Centre, Illinois

10.  Ferry Cross the Mersey, Gerry and the Pacemakers. This 1965 hit seemed to play constantly on a road trip to Galena, Illinois. You had to love Top 40 radio in those days. A video of a 1965 performance that was posted in 2008 has over 7 million views.

9.  Sister Golden Hair, America. This 1975 number-one hit was a favorite of Chicago radio personality Larry Lujack. I heard it often on my America’s Greatest Hits cassette tape. Click on the title for a PBS Soundstage performance Live in Chicago.

8.  Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is? Chicago.  Recorded for the band’s first album, Chicago Transit Authority, 1969, it was released as a single the following year. Click on the title for a PBS Soundstage performance live from Chicago, of course.

Chicago, the band

7.  Save The Last Dance For Me, The Drifters. The 1960 hit came back around several times and by several artists. I particularly recall its use in the final episode of Season One of Queer As Folk.

6.  Good Vibrations, The Beach Boys. I could have picked several Beach Boys Songs for this spot, especially Heroes and Villains. They recall a particular era for me. Even a few years ago, Brian Wilson and his band were still performing it.

5.  Color My World, Chicago. Again off the “CTA” album. It was a popular theme for dances, proms, and weddings. The late Terry Kath did lead vocals on the hit song. These days original member and trumpet player Lee Loughnane sings it. Below is founding member Robert Lamm on vocals. There is nothing like Chicago playing for the hometown crowd.

4.  Horse With No Name, America. It is a favorite of my closest friend and it became our road trip song. This 1972 hit was written and sung by band member Dewey Bunnell. This performance is another from the excellent PBS Soundstage series. Most of the Soundstage concerts were shot at WTTW studios in Chicago near the campus of Northeastern Illinois University.

3.  That’s Life, Frank Sinatra, 1966. A friend who ran karaoke often asked me to sing it. If she had no one to start off her show, she would just announce that I would be starting and play this, even if I was not going to sing anything. I ended up singing it a lot:

2.  Cherish, The Association. A friend asked me to write a lyric for his sister’s wedding song. Someone else asked me after the wedding how I thought to rhyme cherish with perish (as in, “their love will never perish”).  Listen and discover:

1. Beginnings, Chicago. I saw them in concert at DePaul University when the first album was hot and the hits were being released one after another. This was the theme of many dances and certainly many weddings and proms. I can not adequately explain the memories that go with this song. From my seat on Chicago’s lakefront:

Add your favorites in the comments below.  Maybe we will sing along with you. To see any of the music videos for the songs above, just click on the song title.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.