2014 in review

If you have a Word Press blog then you probably get one of these reports.  If you have been looking at stats during the year, you don’t expect surprises, but I found a few.  The most viewed post, Learn to Hate, was actually written in 2012.  No, it was not the repost that got the views, it was the 2012 article.  Not aware that it was already the most viewed post of 2014, proving I didn’t follow the stats too closely, I reposted it in October, 7 months after the flurry of activity.

In addition, the third most viewed post, It’s the journey, was posted in July 2012 and was never reposted.  It was written in anticipation of our trip to the London Olympics, so it included none of the pictures or videos that we took.  I am not sure why it found any audience two years later.

The fourth viewed post, Autumn, was a reposting of an article from 2 years earlier.  I am not sure that I changed a single word, but the second time around found some readers, or perhaps viewers is more correct.

With 104 posts and just over 2900 views you can easily see an average of about 29 views per post, but when you factor in the views of the top 9 posts, three of which were actually posted in previous years, then the rest got next to nothing.  Being Alone was the other outside the “selected period,” posted in 2013.  It too got a reposting later in 2014.

I am not sure what drives an audience to your blog.  In three years I have not found a formula here.  I do think a daily posting would definitely be a plus.  Here is the rest of the monkey business:

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2014 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

A San Francisco cable car holds 60 people. This blog was viewed about 2,900 times in 2014. If it were a cable car, it would take about 48 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

2 thoughts on “2014 in review

  1. For a once a week blog, that’s pretty good. You get a lot more response on Serendipity, but there’s a larger number of “regulars.” If you ever feel like posting more, I’d be glad to have you … and you could always build yourself a second following. A lot of people have more than one blog. Too complicated for me, though I guess I technically do, even though all that goes on in the other one are automatic reblogs of stuff on Serendipity 🙂 Congratulations. You have had a very good year.

    Like

    • It’s nice some old stuff got notice out of nowhere, but others were a disappointment for sure. I feel blessed to be able to get an audience on SERENDIPITY, especially for Angel. I wanted to find the right words for that for a long time and I never would have thought of posting it here. Fortunately your readers and your extra push gave it life and a wide audience. On that note, I saw Angel went home for the holidays. I gather from his postings, it was emotional but necessary.

      Like

Leave a Reply

