Liberation, the musical

Rich and Betty at rehearsal for Pajama Game

Rich and Betty at rehearsal for Pajama Game

It seemed like a great idea years ago.  Betty and I would write the book, I would do the song lyrics and our friend, Michael, would write the music.  Betty’s favorite song is called “I Believe,” a statement made by the main character.  You can read the story behind Liberation and this song today on Serendipity Blog in an article written by yours truly and edited by Marilyn Armstrong.  You will also find a link there to sound cloud to hear an old recording of I Believe by a friend.  The lyric is below:

I Believe

I believe that this world is a wonderful place,
There are so many things to enjoy,
The wonder of flowers that come in the spring,
The trust found in a girl and boy.

I believe that this life is a wonderful thing.
It’s hard to believe, but it’s true,
The sunset that comes on a warm summer night,
The feeling of something that’s new.

The beauty of the whole world surround us.
We must do more than just survive.
With all there is to live for
It’s time that we came alive.

I believe that happiness can be spread on earth.
We can share in the spirit of love,
The wonderment of the sky, sea and stars
To find what we’ve been dreaming of.

I can see there are so many great things to do
Like walking in a warm summer rain,
Or smelling the crisp autumn air in the night.
Yes, there is so much to gain.

The beauty of the whole world surrounds us.
We must do more than just survive.
There is so much to live for
It’s great to be alive.

But if I believe that these things are really true,
If we should share a happy fate,
If the world is a truly marvelous place,
Why is there prejudice and hate?

The beauty of the whole world surrounds us.
This place has a great deal to give.
The chances are here.
Now we must learn how to live.

The beauty of the whole world surrounds us.
We must do more than just survive.
There is so much to live for
It’s great to be alive.

Copyright Michael F. Teolis and Richard Paschall.  Use only with appropriate credit to the authors.  Thanks.

The story behind this song can be read here.

One thought on “Liberation, the musical

  1. […] Since it is National Poetry Month, I thought I would share my favorite lyric from the musical Liberation.  Recently, we told you the story of Liberation – A Musical That Almost Was and the book’s co-author, Betty.  I mentioned that Betty’s favorite song was called “I Believe” and I posted that lyric over on Sunday Night Blog. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

