Liebster Award

It is fun to discover new blogs and I have taken a little time recently to do just that.  I left a few comments and “likes” around the blogosphere and added a couple of bloggers to my Reader which was feeling neglected lately.  At the beginning of this week one of my favorite new blogs sent over a Liebster Award.  He was passing on the tradition after receiving one himself.  He certainly deserves an award.  His style of writing makes you feel like he is talking directly to you.  You will find him at The Open Closet.  I hope you take a moment or two to stop there and see for yourself.  Thanks, David.

Discover new blogs

Discover new blogs

How the Liebster Award Works:

1.  Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog.

2.  Answer the 10 questions given to you by the nominee before you.

3.  Nominate up to 10 of your favorite blogs with fewer than 200 followers and notify them of their nomination.

4.  Come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.

My questions to answer:

Q1. Who is your favorite “gay” author, and which of their books do you recommend? Armistead Maupin and the various Tales of the City books.  They were made into an excellent PBS series.  I heard him speak once, he was also interesting in person.

Q2. What is your favorite film, and /or movie genre? Casablanca, hands down.  Others may come and go in the top ten.  This is number 1.

Q3. What is your favorite artist or painting, have you seen one of their pieces in-person before? A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte, Georges Seurat’s most famous work.  This large masterwork is in the Art Institute of Chicago so I have seen it several times.

Q4. Using 10 words or less, how would you describe yourself?  Passionate about most things, compassionate toward what matters.

Q5. If you could dine with a famous person, either dead or alive, who would it be, and why?  James Franco.  I follow him on facebook.  What a character!

Q6. What is your favorite food?  Pizza, isn’t everyone’s?

Q7. Is it better to be loved my many, or trusted by few?  Without trust there is no love.

Q8. If your life was made into a movie, who would play you in the film, and why?  Matt Damon would be good because he can play all types.  His work in The Talented Mr. Ripley was astounding.

Q9. Why did you start writing your blog?  Why do you ask such tough questions?  It is a personal challenge, I guess.

Q10. What is a catch phrase you live by?  It’s nobody’s business but ours.

My Nominations:

Just a Blog

My Life in Blog

The Young Plum

Purple Gloves

Attila Ovari

The Ugly Iowan

Weekly Flash Fiction

In bouncing back to some of the blogs I put in my Reader, I noticed a few have stopped writing.  Sometimes it is tough to keep writing among the many blogs out there.  I hope a little recognition inspires a few of these.  A few are very consistent on their postings.  I also follow a few well established blogs or newbies who already have a Liebster.  I confess, I got a year ago.  I guess it is OK to get one each year.  What the heck, we make the rules up as we go along!

All nominees, please answer the questions (listed below). Thank you, it has been fun!

Q1. Who is your favorite You Tube or television personality?

Q2. What is your favorite film, and /or movie genre?

Q3. What is your favorite artist or painting, have you seen one of their pieces in-person before?

Q4. Using 10 words or less, how would you describe your blog?

Q5. If you could dine with a famous person, either dead or alive, who would it be, and why?

Q6. What is your favorite music or musical group?

Q7. Is it better to have loved and lost, or never to have loved at all?

Q8. If your life was made into a movie, who would play you in the film, and why?

Q9. What is your favorite sport?

Q10. If you could be an athlete for a day, who would it be?

4 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Thanks Rich for participating and for the wonderful description you wrote about my blog—I think my followers give me more credit than I deserve, as you all are pretty exceptional yourselves! Thank you! I love your answers to all of my Liebster Award questions, and you have a lot of similar tastes as I, especially the artist and painting questions (I’ve seen it multiple times, and it’s my favorite at the Art Institute as well)! Anyways, thanks for sharing my friend!!!

    Like

  2. Well deserved! About time, here here!

    Like

Leave a Reply

