Play, Play That Piano

I got up early this morning.
I wish that I’d stayed in bed.
My girlfriend decided to leave me.
She said that I should drop dead.
I showed up for work quite late today.
I know I was feeling quite tired.
My boss took a good look at me,
And told me that I’d been fired.

So play, play that piano.
I want to sing a happy song.
Let’s hear some old-time music.
We’ll forget everything has gone wrong.

I picked up the paper this evening.
I read that the world’s gone broke.
We just ain’t got no more money.
They said we can’t even hope.
Your silver ain’t worth a dollar.
Your gold won’t get you a dime.
Light cigars with those greenbacks.
They won’t even buy you the time.

So play, play that piano.
I want to sing a happy song.
Let’s hear some old-time music.
We’ll forget everything has gone wrong.

My car was hit be another.
The drive told me he’d sue.
He said he’d take all my money,
“You’ll get what’s coming to you.”
When I finally arrived home,
Robbers had been in the place.
They had even taken my watch dog.
God, what a terrible disgrace!

So play, play that piano.
I want to sing a happy song.
Let’s hear some old-time music.
We’ll forget everything has gone wrong.

Copyright Richard Paschall
Leave a Reply

