Super Sweet Blogging Award

Quite a while back I received the subject award and meant to follow through with rewards of my own. That went over the cliff along with the other best laid plans.  Now I am passing out some goodies before we sing Auld Lang SyneSerendipity blog by Teepee12 visited me with my first award.  Serendipity can go off in any direction and that is one of the things I appreciate about it.  I may have been a bit more political than I intended, but I have gone off where ever my pen leads me as well.  If you want to taste various sweets, you will want to visit the various topics offered to you by Teepee12.

Super Sweet Blogging Award

Super Sweet Blogging Award

A big delay in writing this article was in the choosing of award winners.  I could never seem to find the time to review the many blogs I choose to follow but actually found little time to read.  If I sat down in front of WordPress, it was either to moderate a comment or work on the next blog entry before Sunday night actually came around.  Sometimes Sundays were already booked, so I had to find time to write during the week.  The Sunday night deadline turned into a Sunday afternoon target as it seemed a better time to capture the few regular readers who stopped by.  Some You Tube editing also stole some of my time.  Every now and then, I throw in a shameless plug for my latest video because…well, because I can!

Picking the first two award winners was easy.  Serendipity has served up so many tasty morsels this year it would be impossible not to hand the blog one more award.  In addition to the great articles and random thoughts are a variety of great pictures.  I take pictures frequently but never seem to get such good results.  That blog is proof of how a great picture can enhance any story or article you are writing.  Although I have used a few of my own pictures, I tend to go with the standard license stuff you can easily insert while you write.

In recent months while writing a few gay themed stories based on things I came across in the news or at You Tube or at the No H8 campaign (see current profile pic), I found several good blogs to read and to leave a comment.  One in particular stood out as it chronicles the personal stories of the author as well as some other related themes.  It’s Gay Everyday, Helping and Encouraging Gay (Christian) Men.  Many find conflict between Christian Faith and gay orientation, and the struggle with that can be seen in these personal stories.  As we are handing out a sweet award, however, I could point to the entertainment themed articles.  Glee, of course, is mentioned, but it is this Blessing that really captured my emotion.  If it does not move you, then I think you are unmovable.  Watch the video.  I trust the author of the blog, Josh, and I have become friends in recent months.  I sometime move a discussion over to personal email so that it does not seem like I am following his column with a personal debate.  It is a joy to make friends on a personal level here.  I really did not come to blogging with any such expectation.

Now with great power comes great responsibility!  OK, that’s something that Uncle Ben said to Peter Parker in Spiderman, but I will stretch it a little and use it here.  With the awards now received go these Guidelines:

1. Give credit to the person who chooses to nominate you.  Serendipity, a true inspiration

2. Answer the “Super Sweet” questions.

3. Nominate a “Baker’s Dozen”

“Super Sweet” Questions:

1. Cookies or Cake?  Cake for sure!  I can not point to a particular favorite.

2. Chocolate or Vanilla? Vanilla.  As a kid it was chocolate, but all things pass.

3. What is your favorite sweet treat?   I am a sucker for cheesecake, but bread pudding is also high on the list. 

4. When do you crave sweet things the most?  LOL, anytime.

5. If you had a sweet nickname, what would it be? Puddin’ head?  It’s really up to someone else to give you a nick name.

Now for the awards.  These articles moved me in some way.  From the serious and emotional to the humorous and whimsical, the following are my 2012 favorite blog treats, in no particular order:

Award winners may now copy the award above and post it on their sites.

Note:  While going back through my list of blogs that I followed this past year, I noticed that a few writers seem to have given up their blogs.  This is too bad since they all had a great style and something worth saying.  I understand it, however, as I  sometimes wonder myself how long I will continue to write this. 

About Rich Paschall

When the Windows Live Spaces were closed and our sites were sent to Word Press, I thought I might actually write a regular column. Last year I finally decided to try out a weekly entry for a year and published something every Sunday as well as a few other dates. I reached that goal on continue on. I hope you find them interesting. They are my Sunday Night Blog. Thanks to the support of Marilyn Armstrong you may find me from time to time on her blog space, SERENDIPITY Rich Paschall Education: DePaul University, Northeastern Illinois University Employment: Air freight professional
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Life, Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Super Sweet Blogging Award

  1. theyoungplum says:

    Rich! Thank you! I wish I brought a gelatin mold in the shape of a bundt to such an occasion. To be honest, I am awful at these award things, but I intend on getting better….soon, not now. If I improved now I wouldn’t have anything to improve on in 2013…gotta give perfection time.

  2. I am in the middle of doing a reply post to your generosity in winging this award my way. I am, obviously late, but that is a personality trait that woefully I cannot shake. It is interesting, though, as I don’t think I’ve been nominated for an award by someone who doesn’t follow me…Still, I thank you for a)visiting my little blog and b) liking it enough to submit it for a Super Sweet Blogging Award. Cheers mate!

    • Oddly enough, I thought I had you on my reader list as I have seen it a number of times. I must be clicking through teepee12′s posts. After a post I may click on someone’s elses from comments, or perhaps it was a repost so I went to the source. After a while, there is no telling how I got somewhere and could never backtrack. Anyway, you are on my radar now.

Leave a Reply

